Question about MCTS

jbimlerjbimler Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm new to the IT scene, and only just recently taken and passed my A+ exam. Now I'm studying for my Network+ and was thinking about taking a Microsoft exam after I pass the Net+. I'm a little confused about the requirements to be considered a MCTS. If I were to pass 70-680 am I considered a MCTS? I only ask because after looking at the Microsoft website it says you need to pass between one and three exams.

Comments

• PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    jbimler wrote: »
    I'm new to the IT scene, and only just recently taken and passed my A+ exam. Now I'm studying for my Network+ and was thinking about taking a Microsoft exam after I pass the Net+. I'm a little confused about the requirements to be considered a MCTS. If I were to pass 70-680 am I considered a MCTS? I only ask because after looking at the Microsoft website it says you need to pass between one and three exams.

Passing the 680 will earn you the MCTS: Windows 7 Configuration cert. The cert also counts towards the MCITP:EA for the client exam and you can combine it with the 686 to earn the Enterprise Desktop admin cert.
  • jbimlerjbimler Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Does the 70-680 seem like a good idea after the Network+? I have no experience in IT right now. Currently I'm looking for an entry level position.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Each MCITP certification contains multiple MCTS certifications. Almost all MCTS certifications are one exam. For example, the 70-680 exam will give you the MCTS: Windows 7, Configuration certification. The 70-680 exam along with the 70-640, 70-642, 70-643, and 70-647 exams will give you four MCTS certifications (one each for 680, 640, 642, and 643), with the 70-647 being the final requirement to achieve MCITP: Enterprise Administrator.