Stuff that trips me up...

mikearamamikearama Member Posts: 749
I just finished the layer-2 technologies portion of Workbook 1... and I thought I'd throw this out for your thoughts:

I've been a network admin for various companies for 12 years now, and I'm amazed at the sections in the workbook that I have never seen before, and a couple that sent me scurrying for reading material.

Stuff I have never seen:
Etherchannel over 802.1q tunneling... this is some very cool stuff. Where have you been all my life?!?!?
Hell, static CAM entries... neat, but when would you ever use it?!?!
Flex Links... also kewl, but since 99% of environments run spanning-tree, what's the advantage over letting STP handle redundant links!?!?!

Stuff I trip up on repeatedly:
Fallback Bridging - pain in the butt.
PPPoE - oh my god, brutal. Dialers suck.
PPP over Frame - equally sucky.
Bridging over Frame - I think I'll just write this config on my arm when I do the lab. hehe I can't wait to forget this exercise.

I think the worst for me is Dialers and Virtual-Templates. It's gonna take a lot of time to get them down deep so I'm not stumbling over them.

You techies got any nemesises? nemesis's? nemesi? (What the heck's the plural of nemesis??? )

Mike
There are only 10 kinds of people... those who understand binary, and those that don't.

CCIE Studies: Written passed: Jan 21/12 Lab Prep: Hours reading: 385. Hours labbing: 110

Taking a time-out to add the CCVP. Capitalizing on a current IPT pilot project.

Comments

• RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Oh PPPoE. The days of Dialup. *tears*
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488
    I used to have a PPPoE connection for my DSL line. Plural of nemesis is nemeses.
  • jamesp1983jamesp1983 Member Posts: 2,475 ■■■■□□□□□□
    QHalo wrote: »