SSCP or CISSP - New to InfoSec

keecokeeco Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings!

This is my first post, but hopefully not my last! I'm currently enrolled at WGU in the IT - Security B.S. program and am planning on graduating in September 2012. After researching the industry, job postings, and talking with other infosec professionals, I am seeing a great value in the CISSP certification for those with the actual work experience. However, I'm struggling to find information regarding the benefits of going CISSP as an associate, waiting for the work experience to catch you up to the certification.

I guess my question is...in my case, does it make more sense to get the SSCP certification, which I'm confident I have the (1) year of required work experience, or should I just bite the bullet and do CISSP?

I've been working in IT as a systems/network engineer and small project lead for a little over 10 years. My background is pretty wide, everything from networking to web hosting and design. In addition, I've recently completed my Security+ (95% score) and A+, which were a breeze.

From my work experience, I have been involved in a lot of infosec tasks and have had infosec responsibilities. It is my goal to work my way into some type of infosec management, project management, team lead, etc. as I do have management experience.

The question, as stated, should I go for SSCP at this time to add value to my resume/salary requirements or go for CISSP?

So, to wrap up...I'm looking forward to these forums, the tools on TechExams.net, and the camaraderie of all of you! It seems like a great community!

Keeco

Comments

• shaqazoolushaqazoolu Member Posts: 259 ■■■■□□□□□□
    First off, welcome to the board. Sounds like you will like it here.