CCNA to CCIE

vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
With the release of CCIE: Data Center (Data Center Track - CCIE - Cisco Systems) and working with things such as UCS/Storage/Virtualization - this has really sparked my interest. (As well as getting sick of the same 'ol same 'ol with Microsoft/Systems Administration.)

So, just out of curiosity how long did it take you to go from CCNA to CCIE and how did you start your journey, etc.

Comments

• jamesp1983jamesp1983 Member Posts: 2,475 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I passed my CCNA in 10/2007. I passed 3/4 of my CCNP (BSCI, BCMSN, ISCW) in 2008 (took me 10 months for those 3 tests) and finished it in 2010 (ONT with 3 months of studying). My journey started with a CCNA course at New Horizons and then continued on with a lot of reading/labbing/work experience/and INE. I was a direct report to a CCIE with 10 years experience for several years of my journey and he helped me develop a strong foundation in networking. I'm now a lead network engineer for a large, multisite insurance company and it has really opened my eyes. I'm estimating completion of the CCIE by 12/2012 or 1/2013 and I started CCIE studies 7/2011. Good luck on your journey and be prepared to dedicate A LOT of time.
    "Check both the destination and return path when a route fails." "Switches create a network. Routers connect networks."
  • thadizzythadizzy Member Posts: 72 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Given I had fairly good network skills before:

I took my CCNA April 2009, CCNP February 2010, CCIP June 2010. Did CCIE studies June->Dec and went for my first lab attempt in early December 2010. Was quite far away from passing. Spend the christmas holiday and weekends studying extremely hard, had my second attempt in late Jan/early Feb.. cannot remember. Was *really* close to passing, so close I was sure I had passed the lab when I handed it in. But I did not.

Did only moderate studying for the third lab attempt in April and passed with ease.