It Begins!!! My Journey to MCITP:EA, Messaging, and CCNA

cknapp78cknapp78 Member Posts: 213 ■■■■□□□□□□
Well...It's official. I have been on the job as a Full-Time Messaging Architect for a little over 3 weeks and just received my marching orders on what certifications my company wants me to get for benchmarking my skills. Keep in mind, I have been working as an Independent Consultant/Architect for the past 3 years. But....I Have no official training or certs to speak of. Everything I have done in my 15 year career has been self-taught. Get a job. Learn new skills. Get a new higher paying job. Learn new skills. Get a new higher paying job.

Everything worked out well for the first 14 years. Made some good money. Started raising a family. Then all the contract work dried up. And the economy went into the tank. I only worked 3 out of the last 14 months and I am still standing...somehow. After 6 interviews with this company, I was finally hired as a RTH. Apparently, everyone here is hired the same way. They believe in my skills and I have shown the first few weeks on the job that I know what I am doing. But now I need to have my skills measured and show that I know the "official" or "Best Practices" way of doing things. Better yet, I need these certs so if I find myself looking for work again (I hope not), I have something to show people instead of saying "Read my resume and ask me anything you want." So here I am. Busy as hell with two small kids, 10+ hour work day, and my wife of almost 11 years. Need to find a way to juggle everything.

On to the Certs I have to obtain. As of right now, the list goes like this...

MCITP: EA
MCITP: Messaging
CCNA
If I have time - Net+, Sec+

Keep in mind, this list could start changing. Once my Exchange 2010 Migration project finishes by year end, I am apparently going to start training for a Citrix Migration. I need these tests out of my way quickly.