Getting Certified With Life's Distractions

Vontech615Vontech615 Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
This post is meant as more of a poll than a request for advice but I know there are plenty of intelligent people on this forum so if you have some advice, feel free to post it.

I’ll keep it pretty simple. Who out there has had problems juggling kids, wife, friends, girlfriends, work, all while trying to get some certifications? My son turns 1 in a few weeks and I’m working my tail off to get our house ready for his 1st birthday party, which I pleaded with my wife to have somewhere else but alas if mom isn’t happy no one is ;) I started studying for my CCNA about a month ago but I literally can't get 30 minutes to myself right now to get any work done. It's frustrating at times but I know at some point my schedule will free up and be back on track.

Anyway, I just wanted to vent a little and also see if anyone else has run into distractions and set backs while trying to get certified.

Comments

• N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Von, I am having the same struggles. My children are getting at an age where they require more and more attention. Almost all of my attention when I am at home. So because of that, I am finishing up my last certification this Friday and then it's no more for a long while. I have enough certifications to last a lifetime, I need to focus more on my family.

So to answer your question directly I won't do them anymore, not for a long while at least.

***With that said I will still stay on this forum and continually grow. I still have 10-15 books that need to be read and I will continue doing so. (The learning doesn't stop but the rigours of certifying and studying 4 hours a day will).
  • DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Vontech615 wrote: »
    I know there are plenty of intelligent people on this forum so if you have some advice, feel free to post it.

There are??? where???