career advice - advancement

echo3echo3 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am going to start working on a new college degree in business, possibly finance or management or continue with IS? Which path do you guys think would help complement my IT background? I have currently worked 7 years and network-system admin stuff. I Have an associates degrees in IS, net+ MCSA, MCTS. Any advice on where I should go from here for career advancement. I kind of want to move out of the server room so I can make more money.

thanks,

Comments

• n3tw0rk3rn3tw0rk3r Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I would say it really depends on what you want to do.

If you want to stay within the field of IT, I'd obviously recommend going with the IS degree. However, if you feel you need a change, finance isn't a bad option. What I would not do though is go after a plain business degree, from what I have learned, it is one of the more useless degrees out there (unless obtained from a top business school - which usually requires students to double major in something such as finance, accounting, IS, etc).

If you want to go into management, imo, it's much better to start with your foot in a technical degree for your bachelor's and look for a good MBA program down the road. Alternatively, you could always get a bachelor's and work on a PMP certification, as well - assuming you have the necessary experience.

At the end of the day though, it really does just come down to what you want to do and what you feel more comfortable doing.
  • cknapp78cknapp78 Member Posts: 213 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Agreed. If you are looking to move out of the Server Room and into more of a Design or IT Project Mgr role then I would definitely focus on an IT degree. Also...have you looked into pursuing a higher level certification to advance your degree? I see that you have your MCSA completed. Have you considered upgrading to an MCITP:EA or higher? How about taking your Net+ and moving up the Cisco path?