Options

Passed ICND1. Taking ICND2 this Friday

nkillgorenkillgore Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
Passed last friday with a 937. Used The Cisco Press Book, the Transcender practice exams, and Boson NetSim. I really like the labs that come with NetSim. Also, we just completed a LAN upgrade at work where we replaced older 3com switches with a catalyst 4507 and about 15 3750s in preparation for VoIP.

I thought it was a really easy test. I studied for 4 days, 2-3 hours a day. I could already subnet before I started, so that probably helped. I know it took a while for that to sink in when I learned it. Subnetting is very important to know and be able to do quickly. The Transcender exams were a lot more difficult than the real thing.

Anyway, I'm taking the ICND2 this Friday. I'll share my experience with that when I'm finished. I'll probably dive right in to either CCNA Voice or CCNP when I'm done with this, though I may wait until after we implement the IP phones before I take any voice exams.

UPDATE:

Passed ICND2 with a 902. I found it to be much more difficult than the ICND1. I think because I don't have much real world experience with routers, and the exam was largely focused routers and routing protocols. I would not recommend going from almost zero knowledge to taking the exam in only a week. I spent about 8 hours a day studying, and still didn't feel like I had a firm grasp on everything come exam day.

I studied using the Cisco Press books, Transcender exams (not crazy about them), Boson Netsim, and Boson exams.

I've already started studying for CCNP SWITCH, which so far, doesn't seem too bad. I'll definitely give myself at least 2 weeks to give the concepts a little more time to sink in. icon_wink.gif

Comments

• Options
    Greenmet29Greenmet29 Member Posts: 240
    Congrats! Sounds like you had some really good real life experience before taking the test, the best way to study imho.
  • Options
    cmitchell_00cmitchell_00 Member Posts: 251 ■■■□□□□□□□