Options

Passed N10-004 today April 7

Anders4711Anders4711 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
So, this is my first post here!

I started studying in October last year, but between then and now came house guests, x-mas, new years, the flu, migraine, a cold, and even more house guests. I used mainly Lammle's book, and a few chapters from Meyer, notably the IPv6 chapter. First I read the whole Lammle book, made notes and repeated using the notes. This approach really took a long time, and I will perhaps try another approach when studying for Security+. After finishing the first round of reading I re-read the whole book, doing all the review questions again.

I also used a iPhone Flashcard app, for repeating central stuff like ports, OSI and DoD models, troubleshooting. In hindsight I should have used that tool a bit more, especially for the Authentication, AAA, and Remote Access protocols.

The last week I did three test exams, and scored about 86-92% on those. I also read a few chapters in Meyers book to repeat some of the areas I scored poorly on.

On the exam today I scored 845, about 94%, so I did better on the real exam than the practice exams. I really didn't expect that.

My errors were in section 1, 2, 4, and 5. Aced 3 and 6! Yay!

There were no questions about subnetting. A couple very ambiguous questions, and one or two questions were I had no clue whatsoever. Turns out I did have a clue at some point because I did underscore that section in the book. Some questions were clearly just test-questions, which is also mentioned in the text you read before the exam.

Next cert is Security+, in about three months, at least according to my plan.

Comments

• Options
    zrockstarzrockstar Member Posts: 378