Building a strong background

sharpy56sharpy56 Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I was just wondering, I am new to the whole getting certification thing. I have passed the 70-680 and soon to hopefully pass the 70-685, and was then going to aim for the MCITP for both the EA and SA. But then looking around and reading around it looks like its better to be more versatile.

I've been in the IT field for a bit of a year, and just wanting to go forward but not sure if I should stay Microsoft as such or study for a CCNA and a Security certification, so I have all round knowledge and not just one area.

Right now im not worrying about my pay as so to speak, i know I have lots to learn I just want to make sure that my focus is being put into the best use for the years going forward. Also wanted to build the strong foundations while I am young (only 23) so want to get fully certified while I am younger and have all of this spare time on my hands.

Looking forward to hearing what people say :)

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    G'day and welcome to the forums!

Are you a network guy or a server guy at the moment? Or trying to be one of the two? Just go with either the MCITP: EA or CCNA for now. There really isnt a "best" path thing here. Do what you like doing and where you want to take your career. Good luck with whatever ya choose and hit us up for any other queries you might have.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • sharpy56sharpy56 Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I also don't want to just be the network guy or the server guy. I just want to leave my options open etc and looked into the security side of things.