Options

Passed N10-005; 04/09/12

MrkaliMrkali Member Posts: 105
After passing the A+ last month I scheduled my Net+ test for April 9th and started my studies, which consisted of Mike Meyers All In One and flash cards for topics on the exam objectives that I needed additional clarity on. I then took several practice tests and honed in on areas were I felt I lacked proficiency. I studied for at least two hours a day on weekdays and five to eight hours on weekends for a little under a month.

This morning I sat the test and passed with a 853!

My thoughts on the -005 exam:

A little easier than I was expecting. After underestimating the A+ I made sure I had a complete grasp of all the listed exam objectives for the Net+. I felt the questions were way better written than the A+ and that I had an exact idea of what answer the questions were looking for.

For my A+ I had used a prometric facility and after multiple issues (tests crashing, unable to print results, etc) during both 701 & 702 I opted for a Pearson Vue testing center for my Net+ exam. Everything functioned properly and the testing process was smooth. I will use them for my Security+.

My thoughts on Mike Meyers All In one:

I decided to use the Mike Meyers book for my studies after using his book for the A+. The book is roughly half the size of the A+ book. I felt his book was long winded but I knew what I was getting into from his previous book. I passed, so I suppose I can't complain!

My next move:

Tonight I plan to grab a couple drinks and take a few days off (wife is forcing me), then begin my Security+ studies. I've decided to use Darril's book for that. My wife was offered a promotion that requires us to relocate, which we decided to accept. We'll be moving to Orange County, CA. She starts June 1st. I plan to start looking for an entry level IT job in the OC area starting this week.

Comments

• Options
    SharkDiverSharkDiver Member Posts: 844
    Congratulations! Nice score.