LPI-1 or RHCSA?

relegatedrelegated Member Posts: 81 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been doing some research yesterday and today on the LPI-1 and RHCSA. I currently work as a system admin where we use VMware, Windows, and Linux (CentOS). I would like to obtain a Linux certification and someday move into a position where there is more Linux than Windows I also want to stay heavily involved with VMware and hope to get my VCP this year as well.

RHCSA seems like a better choice but I wanted to get a few peoples opinions on this though. The other question I have is, do I need to buy Red Hat or is CentOS enough to prepare for the RHCSA? If I do need to get Red Hat would the desktop version work for $49 or which version would I need to buy and what if the cheapest I can get it?

Comments

• AceRimmerAceRimmer Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
    No need to buy anything. You can use CentOS 6.x, Scientific Linux 6.x or RHEL 6 server. There's really no difference which one you use. RHEL can be obtained for free from Red Hat if you register for 30-day trial. Any minor version is OK.
  • lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    CentOS is just fine. The difference between CentOS and the "real" RHEL is negligible for the exam.

Having done both I would say that RHCSA is more difficult than LPI-1 but also (in my opinion) more valuable. RHCSA is hands-on while LPI-1 is a multiple choice test covering a lot of things I never dealt with before (Modems, Printing, that kind of stuff). The choice is yours :)
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • BodanelBodanel Member Posts: 214 ■■■□□□□□□□
    RHCSA is much better but much harder in my opinion. You have lots of work to do and time is short. If you dont know the stuff very well you will FAIL and the exam is pretty expensive.
  • YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    No doubt RHCSA
  • onesaintonesaint Member Posts: 801