Options

Materials needed for A+ exam

ITnew-beeITnew-bee Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am aware that I need to pick up a few books, which I have been looking into Mike Meyers all in one book.
But my real question is what is the best hardware to get for getting the best hands on experience?

Comments

• Options
    itsgonnahappenitsgonnahappen Member Posts: 95 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Get yourself a pc with a micro ATX form factor... load up XP or Windows 7 (801/802 I hear won't be released until 3rd/4th quarter and they'll undoubtedly be heavier on Windows 7)... google the documentation for the hardware and get yourself familiar with the different kinds of expansion slots and general layout of the mobo and where each piece and component connect... It'll get you going in regards to familiarizing yourself with the hardware.

How new are you to IT?
  • Options
    ITnew-beeITnew-bee Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I am brand new to IT, so I know I have alot of learning to do. To be honest I dont even know what a micro ATX form factor is but I feel I am motivated enough to learn all I need to know to get this certification so I can somewhat get my foot in the door. All I need is guidance on how to go about it.
  • Options
    ATL-TECHATL-TECH Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    1. The A+ topics that will be on the exam.
    2. Study/google what you don't know
    3. Study troubleshooting printers and printers
    that's it and study troubleshooting procedures
  • Options
    JimTechITJimTechIT Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□