Passed ICND2 yesterday!! Now what way to go?

KeanoknickKeanoknick Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed the ICND2 exam yesterday! So I'm officially a CCNA now.

I need some help now, deciding what way to go now. I want to get my CCNA Voice, and my CCNP. I can't decide which one to go after first.

Which one would be more likely to help me land a good job. I currently work in IT, and have for 4 years, but I'd really like to get into a role that I can utilize the Cisco knowledge that I have gained, and will be working on.

Please feel free to post your thoughts and suggestions.

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I've always been told that a CCNP without a networking background it useless. If that is true than I would just work on your CCNA:Voice while trying to nab a Cisco networking role. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
  • binargsbinargs Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
    first of all, congras are in order. go get a drink.

as for me, i went with ccna:voice, and i started only about 2 weeks ago. the following factors influenced me.

1. ccna:security is going through a overhaul. the new books won't be out until july and the old exam is not so important in todays world.

2. ccnp is what i wanted but there is no instructor lead class around me that starts soon. i am not that smart of a bean and i barely made it through on my own with ccna. i think i need peers for ccnp.

3. ccna:voice is more in demand in my area. i have been on my own doing consultant work for the past 4 years. it makes a living but for the most part, you don't get to play in fancy infrastructure with cisco gears. i strive for more advanced stuff the only way you even get to deal with even ccna level stuff is in a corporate, at least a medium hospital. getting ccna:voice will enhance the chance of me landing myself in that environment.
  • NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    CCNA-voice since its in demand.