Options

Labsim/Test out Review for A+ ~~ WGU

kocherkocher Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
A little background info:
I passed my A+ cert last week. I took both tests on the same day. I have ~12 years’ experience troubleshooting SOHO networks and systems and finally decided to get a degree and certs.

I used 2 things to study for the A+ exam. I used the Labsim/Test out course, provided by WGU. I went through both the essential and Practical information in about 2 weeks total. I also used the Professormesser daily pop quiz questions for extra testing. I used these the day before my exam, mainly because I was nervous that I had simply memorized the test out questions. I didn't use any videos or anything else on professormesser's site, only the daily pop quiz questions.

On to the testout review:
Overall I found the information well laid out. The information is presented in a way that if you had absolutely no PC experience, you would have little trouble following and learning the material. There are 3 different instructors throughout the videos. There is a younger guy, a bald guy, and a monotone guy (their names might have been mentioned? but it wasn't really important to me).

I found the younger guy much easier to listen to and follow. Even though most of the material was review of years of work, you could pay attention to him and not get overly board. The younger guys videos did get a little long and he talked about things mutliple times, but for a beginner, the sheer detail he goes into would be great. The main problem with the younger guy is his material is a little dated, which is why they added the other two instructors.