Options

Resume Advice / Critique

j86cicij86cici Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I'm just hoping to receive some feedback on my resume. I used to work in finance before deciding to leave the field in October to pursue a career transition into IT. Right now I am looking for an entry level position at the Help Desk, in Network Administration and in Security Administration.Any comments provided are helpful. It has been a struggle so far as I can't seem to get interviews for entry level roles that require experience and when I finally get an interview for a job that doesn't require much prior technical knowledge, things don't pan out for one reason or another (most recently, I was told that I was "too well polished" and the position was "beneath me"...when in actuality I badly wanted the job to help build my hard skills).

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    j86cicij86cici Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    At first glance it's very good, and generally not a bad format. However, when I read into your experience I don't see much that interests me. It's good to show your experience, but your resume is ~70% experience and the vast majority of it is not pertinent to IT. Don't get me wrong, a background in finance is not a bad way to get into IT at all. But it's a lot of text and not a lot of focus on your IT skills.

I love the professional summary, and I think this is where IT resumes need to go. However, I would like to see a section heading for it, just like the others. It is a bit too long as well. I would drop the last sentence entirely, and maybe see about shortening it up a line.