Best ways to gain experience while studying for certifications?

JSJJSJ Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all! Newbie here.

I am currently a junior at University of Maryland, College Park majoring in Economics. I've always had a strong interest in building gaming computers in the past but "grew out of it" upon entering college. However, recently I have become more and more interested in the networking field, especially considering the amount of jobs available in the Washington DC area. My short-term goal is the CCNP within the next year. I have begun studying for the CCENT/CCNA using Odom's 3rd Edition w/ Simulator and I will proceed to the CCNP shortly after.

Moving on, I'm looking for a good way to gain some real world experience in the field while I am studying for the exam. I know simply studying and (hopefully) passing these certifications isn't a guarantee for a job. However, there are very few internships for this field - especially if you aren't a CompSci or EE major. In some ways I regret majoring in Econ but it is what it is...there is no way I'm starting over now icon_redface.gif So where does one begin? I want to get my foot in the door early as I have a very good understanding of computer hardware but most jobs in this area require 3-5 years of experience and I can't find a single apprenticeship.

What are your thoughts? Is my degree going to hold me back from jobs in this area?

Comments

• Mrock4Mrock4 Banned Posts: 2,359 ■■■■■■■■□□
    IMO, the best way to go is use GNS3 or build a small cisco lab at home to practice on. Once you have the basics down and are comfortable with the CLI, an entry-level part-time gig should not be terribly hard to get your hands on if you know your stuff. Keep in mind, you may have to "work in the trenches" so to speak at first.