Going for CCNA

ciscon00bciscon00b Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm fairly new to Cisco networking, recently for work we bought couple of Cisco switches / ASA / Router . Though i have some experience in configuring these devices, i feel like i lake in knowledge. I want learn how really these stuff work. so i decide go for CCNA cert.

Currently I'm using these materials

1- ICND1 Book by Wendell Odom (2nd edition)
2- CBT Nuggets by Jeremy
3- GNS3

As u can see i'm using ICND1 book 2nd edition by Odom, is it OK or shall i get 3rd edition ? I'm married and have a 8 month old daughter, so it's really hard to find time for studies. How you guys find time, when you have a family ? Now i study just one hour at work and one hour at home.

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I know the married with a baby feeling. It's hard to find time to read, and sometimes you end up with sleepless nights. I'm lucky enough to have some slow days at work and a supervisor who encourages me to study when I can. If you start to find Odom's book tiring to read (which I did) go ahead and get Todd Lammle's CCENT book. I found it much easier to digest and read. Looking back it took me about two months of serious studies to pass the ICND1.

To answer your question, I've been told that there is nearly no difference between the 2nd edition and the 3rd edition.
  • ciscon00bciscon00b Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you for the tips. I'm trying to sit exam in July. Giving myself two months for studies.
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    ciscon00b wrote: »
    Thank you for the tips. I'm trying to sit exam in July. Giving myself two months for studies.

Good luck. If you have any more questions, don't be a stranger. The folks on TE are friendly and helpful.
  • SharkDiverSharkDiver Member Posts: 844