Options

Gibson's First Security+ Assessment Exam: Get Certified Get Ahead

itsgonnahappenitsgonnahappen Member Posts: 95 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm just getting started in my studies towards Secruity+ certification and recently purchased Gibson's Get Certified Get Ahead Security+ Study guide.

I just finished the first Assessment Exam in the book to gauge where I'm at and I was pleasantly surprised when I scored much higher than I anticipated. If each question is valued at 1 point, I scored a solid C - 76/100.

My question is: Is this test in lines with the actual test in terms of the difficulty of questions?

Or was this initial assessment test just brushing the basics of the types of questions on the actual test and not a way to measure how well you can perform on the actual test?

I hope that makes sense.

Those that have used Darril's book and have passed the Security+ please chime in! You're feedback would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    Good that you had a good score with the assessment exam. It is a good sign that you're close.

The biggest thing I like to stress with all of the questions is getting them all right isn't the most important gauge. Ideally, you should be able to look at any question and know why the correct answer is correct, and why the incorrect answers are incorrect. This way, CompTIA can word a question in just about any way, and you'll still be able to get it correct as long as you know the content.

Good luck.
  • Options
    Carl_S_901Carl_S_901 Member Posts: 105
    I'm just getting started in my studies towards Secruity+ certification and recently purchased Gibson's Get Certified Ahead Security+ Study guide.

I just finished the first Assessment Exam in the book to see where I'm at. I was pleasantly surprised when I scored much higher than I thought I would. If each question is valued at 1 point, I scored a solid C - 76/100.