Is this an industry-wide problem?

BroodmdhBroodmdh Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working as a programmer for a little over 7 years. I want to move into InfoSec, and I've met with several people in the local industry about what they look for in applicants. They have all told me that the CISSP is a requirement for all new hires, regardless of the position being filled or the experience of the applicant. This doesn't sit well with me, but I've decided to study for the cert (as an associate) since it seems that I have no choice if I want to move into InfoSec. Do employers in other regions have the same expectation? I've always thought that requiring everyone to have what is essentially a management cert would devalue that cert. Is it unreasonable to expect a front-line pen tester to have a cert like the CISSP? Are employers in my region just misguided?

Comments

• dmoore44dmoore44 Member Posts: 646
    That's a really good question...

I know that if an individual is looking for an InfoSec job in the US in the public sector (i.e. Federal Government, Military, etc...), that individual is required to achieve a certain certification level (i.e. get Security+, CEH, CISSP) within a certain number of months of being hired. In the defense sector, the policy that explains this is DoD 8570 (http://www.eccouncil.org/portals/0/images/AP3-Table.jpg) - the civilian agencies usually follow along DoD guidelines.

I don't really know much about the private sector... so I'll not comment on that area.
    Graduated Carnegie Mellon University MSIT: Information Security & Assurance Currently Reading Books on TensorFlow
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Good question - and it's a topic that is also being debated in the US. As @dmoore44 - in US defense sector, there is Department of Defense mandate which requires certification.