jobs for students

JVWhiteJVWhite Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
what jobs do you all recommend for a high school senior soon to be college student looking to break in to IT. All the job listing I have seen have been for people with 1-2+ years experience and a B.S. well where can i get this experince. I am studying right now for OS portion of A+ then I'm certified. Any tips would be appreciated (because I can't take fast food anymore.)

Comments

• Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    Look for help desk/support positions, or PC repair tech;something along those lines. Also look for any volunteer oppurtunities as well. Right now, you need experience and education. Are you going to college? IT is not easy to just break into, it takes time and dedication, and patience. I asked the same question when I joined this forum a couple yeas ago...how do you get the experience, if no one is willing to hire without it....make yourself better. And don't give up...
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • matts5074matts5074 Member Posts: 148
    I joined this forum a couple yeas ago...how do you get the experience, if no one is willing to hire without it....make yourself better. And don't give up...

Ditto. I agree 100%. Keep improving yourself and don't give up. I took me a couple years of applying for IT jobs while working in retail before I finally got one. It was well worth it.
  • TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would finish the A+ and then look if there are any work study positions for IT at the college you attend. Depending on the size of the college there could be various opportunities there.

If that is not an option then perhaps look to trying to get a part time position at like a Best Buy or some form of tech support.

Good luck.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin