Options

My Road to CISSP (Take 2)

Agent LithiumAgent Lithium Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Not sure how my previous thread got stuffed up, but here's my second go at posting my experience. Thank goodness I don't have to take a second go too at the exam.

My exam was on 31 March at Sydney, and I received the passed result on 9th May.

I have 6 years of experience in security in software development, security assessment and hardening, and security product implementation.

My study plan over 3 months was:
  1. Read AIO v4 at about 1 week per chapter, going to Google for anything I wanted to learn a bit further. I did not try to memorise anything, but just focused on understanding the material. I spent on average 2 hours per day.
  2. Then I worked through the AIO practice exams, for each chapter I'd score anywhere from 60% to 90%, then I'd go back to the chapter to pick up the stuff I'd missed. This took about 2 weeks.
  3. Before the exam I took a few days off work, and concentrated on memorising stuff like all the definitions, numbers and facts. This turned out to be much wasted effort as I did not see many of these in the exam. I did as many free practice questions as I could, many from cccure.com. I also did the AIO practice exams again, this time getting around 95%.
  4. There was also a CISSP summary sheet I downloaded off the net that basically puts all the CISSP topics into 10 pages. I used it to refresh my memory while commuting to work.

The day before the exam I got sick of studying and went off to have a great meal, played games, and went to bed early to have a great night sleep (very important).

On the day of the exam I bought plenty of high sugar food and had a big shot of coffee right before the exam. I found this useful to put my brain on overdrive for the next 6 hours. I took a 10 min break every 2 hours during the exam.