Guide for what to buy

skwira001skwira001 Member Posts: 94 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am by no means a expert when it comes to the different Cisco products, but I feel like I have a good firm grasp on what to buy.

You can get by with just 3 infrustructure devices. You need at least 2 routers so you can do the VOIP dial peers. The POTS dial peers can be done with just one router.

As far as what routers to buy, it depends on whether you run CCP in the normal mode or Demo mode. If you use CCP in Demo mode, you can get away with just 2620xms or similar device in that series and a 1760. A 2620xm makes for a good router because it has a network module slot where you can buy a module that has Unity Express. A 1760 router works really well because it has voice modules for your FXS and FXO ports. This is for integrating POTS. The only thing is make sure the image on the routers supports VOIP. This can be a VOIP image or an enterprise image that has both VOIP and Security.

As far as the switch is concerned, a catalyst c3550 works fine. It has POE and the necessary QoS. You don't need 2 switches although it will be good review.

Another thing to consider is the 2620xm only has 1 ethernet port. In order to run NAT with overload and connect to your Linksys or Netgear what ever the case may be, you might want to consider buying something similar that has 2 ethernet ports.

The ideal lab setup for infrustucture devices should look like this:
2801 CME router running 8.x (I'm sure 7 will work fine too). Use NAT overload and cable one to 3550 and another to your home router for Internet access for things like NTP.
1760 Gateway using the FXS and FXO ports (sold separately). The FXS port needs to have 2 or more ports.
c3550 switch

If you want to the complete lab, buy a PBX and an one more FXO port for your 2801. There is a demonstration in the officla certificaton gude how to connect to a PBX and do dial peers for that.