Passed Security+ today

NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
Cleared Security+ today with 822/900. Time was not an issue as I finished with in excess of an hour remaining.

I started studying after passing ICND2 on May 3. I really feel like having the CCNA made this test a lot easier for me - CompTIA is correct to advise N+ and 2+ years networking experience before this exam.

I studied primarily using Darril Gibon's book for 3-4 hours a night after my son goes to sleep (usually 9pm-midnight or 1am) for a little under 2 weeks. I work full time in IT at a software company where security is a high concern for us, so I do have some experience which I believe also helped.

I can say without question that this subject was daunting and intimidating before I started. While reading Darril's book, I found myself waiting for the 'hard part' - it never came. Darril, thank you for writing such a comprehensive, easy to read (and understand) book. For anyone who has read other posts and is still wondering, Darril's book is top-notch. Also thanks to TechExams where I have been lurking for some time - I used the TechNotes section as well.

I would advise anyone planning to take this exam to not only understand all of the technical aspects described in the exam objectives, but to also study 'best-practices' for many cases. I found the practice test on CompTIA's web site to be representative of the actual test. IMO Darril's practice questions actually did a better job of measuring knowledge of the subject.
When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.

Comments

• cgrimaldocgrimaldo Member Posts: 439 ■■■■□□□□□□
  • DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
  • quinnyflyquinnyfly Member Posts: 243 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congratz mate, good score :)
    The Wings of Technology
  • MrkaliMrkali Member Posts: 105
    Congratulations on the pass! I'm currently studying Sec+ using Darril's book and have found it to be an excellent resource, as well.