Would you guys recommend getting the CCNA over the Microsoft Certs??

DeemeetriDeemeetri Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys I'm studying for the 70-680 right meow but reading a lot of the forums over here makes me believe that it's a lot better to get the CCNA even though I'm interested in a Server based role... thoughts??

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It sounds strange to me that someone interested in a role working on Microsoft servers would aim for a CCNA before a Microsoft certification. The server guys I know focused on MS at first.

Caveat: I'm not a server guy.
  • jmritenourjmritenour Member Posts: 565
    If you want to work with server side technologies and skill sets, the CCNA is somewhat of a waste of time. It's definitely not going to be any easier than of the MS certs, and will be a lot harder to learn and lab if you're self studying with no background experience.

Full disclosure - I do server side stuff exclusively at this point, and hold a CCNA. At the time I picked mine up, I was working in a role where I was doing a lot of both network infrastructure stuff as well as being a server monkey. I went ahead and took the exam after I switched jobs to one in which I'm solely a systems admin (and don't touch routers or switches due to separation of duties) only because I had so much time invested in studying for it. I highly doubt I'll renew my CCNA when it expires, because it's not relevant to what I'm doing these days, and I doubt I'll ever go back to the networking side of things at this point.
    "Start by doing what is necessary, then do what is possible; suddenly, you are doing the impossible." - St. Francis of Assisi
  • demonfurbiedemonfurbie Member Posts: 1,819
    microsoft and cisco are completely differant beasts even if they are both "networking"

one is servers/users/workstations other is dataflow/infrastructural
    wgu undergrad: done ... woot!!