The new guy says Hello, and has some questions :D

variable42variable42 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently working towards my A+ and CCNA certs. I have a Bachelors in Letters and Science with an English degree, and decided to move back into the IT field. Anyway, long story short, I've become a bit discouraged by the experience conundrum (not to mention all the new initials some of these places seem to require). I currently work as a 3rd shift manager at Walgreens, and I'm sick to death of retail icon_sad.gif

I'm looking to relocate to Seattle in about six months, but it would be nice to know what I can do before then to make sure I'm in a position to land a good job that'll pay the bills(at least $15/hour 40 hours/week). Here's a brief lowdown of what I know.

-I currently administer and publish a Podcast (www.horracemcknight.com) if that helps with the experience thing at all.
-Basic Linux experience.
-Lots of hardware experience (and I can solder too!)
-Advanced Windoze experience (95->XP)
-Basic networking experience.
-I have some sound engineering related technical experience too.

I considered doing the Geek Squad thing, but they don't pay enough to keep my credit-card companies happy :P I see some jobs on Dice for a company called Rescuecom that seems like a Geek Squad alternative, but their listing isn't very specific.

Anyone in the Seattle area, or Washington in general, know of good entry-level places that actually pay you for what you do? Sorry if I'm a bit vague, but it's 1am and I'm groggy... I sincerely appreciate any info offered :)

-Russ

Comments

• qsubqsub Member Posts: 303
    Entry level pay sucks.

Have you considered working part time entry level and another job in a different field that would pay you more to balance it out?
    World Cup 2006 - Zidane - Never Forget.
  • variable42variable42 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□