Should I get certifications now, or just wait?

MrRedHatMrRedHat Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I’m currently in college and I’m working on a double major in Computer Science/Mathematics with a minor in business. I have about two years to go until I finish school. I've owned my own IT consulting company for six years now (woohoo, made it past the five year mark) and I have about 15 years total IT experience. Business is good for me right now and I’ve managed to make it this far without a college degree or any certifications. My whole point in going to school is for “just in case”. Say five years from now things aren’t going so well and I need to send out a resume. I want to be able to put a check mark next to “has Bachelor's degree”. This is the same with certifications, I assume once I get them, it’s easier to keep current, than it is to try and get a whole bunch when I’m sending out resumes. :)

I mostly get by because I get tossed in the water and someone says, "SWIM!", and usually I tread water :). With my current job, I pretty much do everything I’m asked to do. One day I could get a call from a client and they’ll want me to install new routers for their WAN sites, I configure them, ship them across the world, then someone at the remote site plugs ‘em and everything works(obviously more complicated than this but...). At the end of last year I deployed 200 Windows 7 machines for a client’s network. I did all the server configs, images, etc. I hired some technicians to unbox, install, make sure they work, and train users for Windows 7 questions, etc. Then this past month I had to write a searchable database for a client, which had SQL, IIS, Visual Studio, C#, etc. Which turned out to be a huge success (to my surprise), it was on the local radio and everything.