Options

Here's how to pass the CISSP!

clones2clones2 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Took the CISSP today and need to share my experience.

Background: Ive worked for a large global corporation (over 30000 global employees) for over 10 years as a Window System Admin and IT Security Professional. So - I have plenty of experience in a large enterprise organization... For reference...I took this exam with over a dozen individuals from my company. I was definitely very prepared....

Material for Study:
Harris - AIO 5th edition. Went through 3 times.
ISC OIG v2 - Went through twice
ISC Review Seminar (company paid)
ISC Student Handbook from Seminar - went through twice
4000+ Review Questions from AIO, OIG, cccure.org, and other random sites
a few NIST documents

Got to the point where most of this stuff was committed to memory... Close to 200 hours of study including the seminar. Done all over 2 1/2 months. I'll let you do the math - but it was pretty intense study. Took a practice test of 125 questions the week before in the seminar from retired questions and got 80%. Went through it quick - and thought the results were ok. Spent the entire 6 days before the exam 10 hours a day cramming for this thing...

And the test... was... brutal. icon_smile.gif I did the best I could possible to prepare for this thing...and these questions are intense! Anyone who says this is 1" deep is crazy. icon_smile.gif Some of the detail of these questions is unbelievable... I received a few questions and terms for things I had never seen. You'd think with the ISC guide and an instructor from ISC - you'd see it before the exam...hopefully just research questions.