PowerShell question for 70-640

LunchbocksLunchbocks Member Posts: 319 ■■■■□□□□□□
I have a question regarding the difference in PowerShell between W2K8 and W2K8 R2. When studying for the 70-640 before R2, the commands were different than what they are showing now in the R2 book. For instance, creating a user account started with:
$ou=[ADSI] "LDAP://ou= phoenix,dc=contoso,dc=com"
had 2 other lines, and then ended with:
$newuser.SetInfo().

The R2 version of the book shows it as simply: New-ADUser -path "ou=phoenix,dc=contoso,dc=com" -Name "Joe User" -sAMAccountName "Joe.User".

Have I missed something, or has PowerShell changed that much?

Thanks,
Degree: Liberty University - B.S Computer Science (In Progress)
Current Certs: CCENT | MCTS | Network+
Currently Working On: Security+
2020 Goals: CCNA, CCNP Security, Linux+

Comments

• ParthetParthet Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I don't know about the non-R2 version because I started studying strictly the R2 books, but everything within Powershell is done with commandlets now (IE New-ADUser, Get-ADUser, Set-ADGroup, New-ADGroup, etc.)
  • LunchbocksLunchbocks Member Posts: 319 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The new way using cmdlets is much easier. To add a user before using PowerShell, you would have to type the following:

$objOU = [ADSI]"LDAP://localhost:389/ou=HR,dc=NA,dc=fabrikam,dc=com"
    $objUser = $objOU.Create("user", "cn=MyerKen")
    $objUser.Put("sAMAccountName", "myerken")
    $objUser.SetInfo()

Now it seems to be a single "NewADUser" cmdlet. I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't missing something, and that the test won't reference the old way.

Thanks,

• jmritenourjmritenour Member Posts: 565
    Yes, powershell 2.0 (R2 & Win 7) is a huge leap forward from 1.0 (2008 & Vista). Much more usable, and powerful.
    "Start by doing what is necessary, then do what is possible; suddenly, you are doing the impossible." - St. Francis of Assisi