College Major decision

sjbllr15sjbllr15 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am in my second year of college. I have recently selected my major as CIS, before that i was undecided. I chose this because computers interest me, and I know that CS is more math based where as CIS is more business. I will admit I do not know much about computers, I have only taken a few basic programming classes, but I enjoy learning and am motivated in my classes to learn when it deals with computers. I am not sure what I want to do when i graduate. What kind of jobs are available for a CIS major? Would CS be a better choice, for job availabilty when i get out? I appreciate any help!

Comments

• garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    Getting a job may be hard without experience (as in any industry). CS or CIS, it really makes no huge difference to an employer. They see them as the same. It is experience that will determine what type of job you will get.
  • Go BucksGo Bucks Member Posts: 152
    Try to get an internship with a company or see about working in the school labs. Anything to get experience. I would also advise to work on your certifications in the Summer or during Winter break if you are lucky enough to be on quarters and get all of December off. With a degree, some certs, and a little experience you shouldn't have too much trouble finding a decent job.
    "Me fail English? That's unpossible."
  • rarossraross Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
    garv221 wrote:
    Getting a job may be hard without experience (as in any industry). CS or CIS, it really makes no huge difference to an employer. They see them as the same. It is experience that will determine what type of job you will get.

I disagree with this. An intelligent employers will not think a CIS or CS degree is the same. As what he said, CIS is more business oriented and less programming. CS has a lot more math and algoritmic design classes. These two degrees are a lot different.