Options

Good General IT Certs?

I'm currently a field technician and am looking to eventually get into Networking or Security (haven't decided yet). I got my A+ on my own, and my company sent me for training when I asked to go for my Network+.

I asked the person who manages all the company training if we have any vouchers left for New Horizons and she happily said that we have plenty, but I'm afraid that my manager might turn me down since it's not directly related to my current job.

If that's the case, can anyone recommend some good certifications that apply to all IT and would look good on a resume? I'm guessing something along the lines of MCITP, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Goals for 2014: CCNA: Voice / CCNA: Security

Comments

• Options
    MrBishopMrBishop Member Posts: 229
    If you're getting into networking and security, I think you might want to go ccna, ccna security, etc.
    Degrees
    M.S. Internet Engineering | M.S. Information Assurance
    B.S. Information Technology | A.A.S Information Technology
    Certificaions
    Currently pursuing: CCIE R&Sv5
  • Options
    the_hutchthe_hutch Banned Posts: 827
    Honestly, I'd say the goals you have listed in your signature block is exactly what you should be doing, given your interests.
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If you are a field technician and you are looking at getting higher level certs that are related to your job that could possibly help I would go for these.

CCENT. Sell your manager that's it's basic network connectivity maybe push for the CCNA your call

70-680 and 70-685 would be snap right into the work you are doing and could prep you for system admin work. I personally would go with that, but who asked me

But like Hutch mentioned if you could pull off what you have listed in your signature why not!:)
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■