Oracle Database SQL Expert Exam 1Z0-047

ShWiVeLShWiVeL Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
To anyone who took or is pursuing the 1Z0-047 exam, how difficult would you gauge the exam/study process? I do not intend to take the administration exam to get my OCA, just the sql expert exam. Re: my background/education, I do not have a computer science degree (I have a degree in accounting and am an auditor), but am currently getting my masters in information technology. I write Oracle sql on a daily basis however I only have SELECT only access to the database where I work; I frequently create complex queries - am familiar with how to use the WITH clause, inline views, subqueries, functions, case statements, sql plus commands/formatting, etc. - but because I only write queries to retrieve and manipulate data, I have no actual experience in a lot of what the exam seems to cover based on the content overview. Of the categories listed for the exam I count about 7 out of 17 that I actually know based on experience - the rest I would have to rely upon a study guide (I just bought Amazon.com: OCA Oracle Database SQL Expert Exam Guide: Exam 1Z0-047 (Oracle Press) (9780071614214): Steve O'Hearn: Books). Do you think someone with my background would have trouble passing this exam; any tips on study materials? Also this may sound like a stupid question - but does this certification have an acronym of some kind? I know if you pass the administration exam you become an OCA but if not is there some other acronym?
Thanks

Comments

• crashdumpcrashdump Banned Posts: 134
    Oracle Database SQL Expert Exam 1Z0-047 is a very difficult exam. I work for 4 years about 10% of my work time on SQL. I do mainly reporting. I advise you to read the study guide (and other books about Oracle SQL) very well and to practice a lot. I have twice failed the exam icon_sad.gif
  • vichalevichale Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□