Options

Active Directory Certificate Authority

epuloneepulone Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am studying to get the 70-640 certificate. Unfortunately I have difficulties to fully understand the Active Directory Certificate Authority (AD CA - AD CS ) and how it works.
Can someone help me?
Many Thanks

Comments

• Options
    rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    You asked a very open ended question, you should ask what you are specifically having trouble with. That being said, the best thing to do is setup your own CA and go through the labs in whatever books you are using.
  • Options
    epuloneepulone Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I am studying on Microsoft Learning [6425B] .. I couldn't find a lot of regarding CA .... just the following:
    Active Directory Certificate Services (AD CS) extend the concept of trust so that a user, computer, organization, or service can prove its identity outside or inside the border of your Active Directory forest.Certificates are issued from a certificate authority (CA). When a user, computer, or service uses a certificate to prove its identity, the client in the transaction must trust the issuing CA. A list of trusted root CAs, which includes, for example, VeriSign and Thawte, is maintained by Windows, and updated as part of Windows Update.
    If you think about the last time you made a purchase on an Intranet site, you will recall that it was probably performed on a site using secure sockets layer (SSL), with an HTTPS:// address. The server proves its identity to the client, your browser, representing a certificate issued by a CA that your browser trusts, such as VeriSign or Thawte.
    A public key infrastructure (PKI) is based on a chain of trust. A certificate authority can create a certificate for another certificate authority. The second CA can then issue certificates to users, computers, organizations, or services that will be trusted by any client that trusts the upstream, root CA.