Self studying not producing results...possible options

seansabianseansabian Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey now, well I failed the ICND 2 for the umpteenth time. Maybe self study is not working for me. I have scored well into the 80% range on every category except routing 67%. However I have not been able produce those scores on a single attempt. I'm a network admin work experience on Cisco gear in a Cisco networking environment (switches 6509, 4948, 3750, routers 2800, 2900, ASA 55xx, Wireless ctrl, and access points). I work on this equipment everyday. No one else at work has my job title or duties. My boss said I don't need the ccna. But I would like to know what I'm missing. So do you think the Cisco Network Academy can help me fill in the gaps and pass the ccna? I don't want to attempt the ccna again with only self study under my belt.
~ Sean

Comments

• Brain_PowerBrain_Power Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 163
    Have you thought about building a home lab?
  • drkatdrkat Banned Posts: 703
    Honestly OP,

67% isnt great but, it depends on how cisco is "scoring" the category

You obviously know IGP/Static Routing for your job, but the problem might be the wording of the questions - what I would suggest... is getting your self a copy of CCNA: Exam Cram and take the 802 composite exam.. I guarantee you'll pass.
  • seansabianseansabian Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    @Brain_Power I have a home lab (three 1721 routers, two 2950 switches, and a 2509 AS). And I practiced the 100 CCNA labs on packet tracer and the home lab. I labbed my problem areas twice (nat, acl, eigrp, ospf, ppp, hdlc).

@drkat No I know 67% isn't great but I was starting to think along those lines too (maybe I'm not getting the wording of questions). Thanks for your help. I will do that.
    ~ Sean
  • drkatdrkat Banned Posts: 703
    seansabian wrote: »