Approaching InfoSec with a Business Background

frobro989frobro989 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm a bit new here so hopefully I won't get bashed for this question...

I just graduated from college (BS in Finance/Accounting) and will be working for a public accounting firm. As of last summer, I recently became interested in information security. This was primarily during my internship where I had the chance to work with a higher up in the firm who's involved in information security services.

Right now I'm studying for the CPA exam, but after that I think I want to tackle some IT certs and try to get involved with the infosec group at my firm again.

My IT background is very limited, but after some research I do understand the kind of foundation required to approach information security.

Most suggested paths I see in this forum are for people who already have in-depth IT experience/education, but is there an approach for people who have a different background?

Comments

• loneferretloneferret Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would suggest strengthening your overall knowledge of IT, before going into InfoSec.
    Take some programming/networking classes... grab some good books. Get familiar with different operating systems such as Windows and Linux.

Don't know if I'm saying this correctly, but one doesn't "start" in Infosec. They usually go into it after have some level of experience in IT before making the jump into this weird and wonderful thing called security.

*coffee time...darn it.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■