Options

A+ Preparation Question

taternuts666taternuts666 Member Posts: 200
So I have been studying for the Network+ exam for the past couple months and I'm ready to take it now however I have to wait until the last week of July to do so. This is because I will be reimbursed for the exam by my employer after 7/20/12. I'll then be starting WGU on 9/1/12. Since I have an entire month of waiting until the Network+ I thought I would start studying for another exam and I thought the A+ would be a good one to study for. Do you think this is a good idea? Do you think 1 month is enough time? I was thinking about taking both exams at the same time if possible.

I've been a PC tech for 5+ years however never done any "formal" PC tech training.

What are some of your views on this?

Comments

• Options
    paulgswansonpaulgswanson Member Posts: 311
    Have you tried taking the practice exams on Comptia's website?
    I personally didnt find the A+ 2009 that hard they actually slimmed it down quite a bit from the nightmare that it used to be. Like you I had no formal A+ training just work experience. Take a few Transcender trial practice exams and see how you do. If your above 50%+ then I'd think 1 month study would be fine.
    http://paulswansonblog.wordpress.com/
    WGU Progress: B.S. Network Management & Design <- I quit (got bored)
  • Options
    DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    With five years as a PC tech, you probably could take and pass the exams in a month. I'd suggest you download the objectives from CompTIAs website and see if there's anything that looks wildly unfamiliar. If there are many unfamiliar topics, this may slow you down, and you may miss your goal of passing Network+ by the end of July.