i suck at interviews

lizaliaslizalias Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
if theres something im not good at its interviews.

whether it be for a job or even work experience.

im kinda like those people that "once you get to know me im ok".

some of the things the 'interviewer' ask just get me stomped no matter what the question it, i just get a blanked out and feel dumb and stupid lol. Then once i get home i kick myself in the head for doing really bad.

and very shy around people, maybe because im on the pc all day everyday.

this question i hate the most: "what are your strengths and weeknesses"?
and when they ask if i have come accross a particular situation in the past what did i do to help, and similar.

so really need help on what can i do to improve this 'fear of interviews'.

Comments

• capy_12090capy_12090 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If the same questions keep stumping you, plan your answers ahead of time.

Another tip is to try to imagine that you have already been offered the job, so there is nothing to be nervous about.
  • RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Practicing the situation is a good way to get used to it. I used to send people I know that had a similar problem to a few friends that owned or managed businesses. They would interview them just like if they were looking for staff for themselves and then give the person a score card and some suggestions.
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • kevozzkevozz Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Head to the bookstore and pick up some books on how to interview. Also look for the books like "250 questions you may be asked on an interview". Those have really helped me. There are also simulated interviews for your computer.
  • frankj1247frankj1247 Member Posts: 111
    Also, make sure you get a good nights sleep! Don't waste time overthinking things! If you are tired you won't perform well in the interview.