Options

Job Advice?

I am currently in the process of studying for my A+, Network+ and Security+ certifications. I have vast interest in computer hardware and software. I've also become very interested in networking and security over the past few months... In addition, while I have no official experience, I have over 5 years personal experience of working with all aspects of computers and electronics.

That said... I badly, no, desperately, need to get myself a job. I've been calling and filling out applications around my local area for months. This town does not seem to be hiring anyone in the computer industry (or any industry for that matter) without having a masters degree in quantum physics engineering from Harvard. I can't even get a job at a grocerie store for some unknown reason. I have encountered one or more of the following on my job hunt:

#1. Won't get hired due to lack of experience, but I can't get experience because no one will hire me...

#2. Not qualified. I don't understand why you need college degrees to stock shelves or unload trucks. But that seems to be the picture.

#3. They are not hiring period... This is 99% of the businesses in my area...

#4. Most places around here don't have paper applications, they are all electronic now. I have put in mulitple applications for serveral places but the only answer I get is "your application stays valid for 60 days, after that you are free to reapply".

So fourth and so on...

Any advice on how I can "get my in the door" so to speak? Or in other words, obtain even an entry level minimum wage job in the tech industry??.... I know computers. I love computers. I want a carrer in computers.

Thanks,
- Joey

Comments

• Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Joey,