Help with Cryptography - What I Know

williarmwilliarm Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I've been reading these boards the last few days as I have been studying for the Security+. I'm taking the exam on 7/20. I am studying with Darrill's book. It's a great read. I've been scoring mid 80s on the CompTIA Security+ practice exam and 90/100 on Darill's book exams, so I feel I have a good knowledge of most of the objectives. I just want to make sure I have a good foundation for the Cryptography as this is the one area that continues to trip me up (and it seems others as well). I know my scores would be higher if not for issues with Cryptography.

Please bear with me, as I wanted to lay out what I know (or think I know to be correct.) If you could please provide me with some input on my knowledge or correct my misunderstandings that would be great!

1.) Symmetric key encryption: Alice uses AES or some other symmetric key encryption algorithm to create a symmetric key so that she can securely send data to Bob. She will only send this symmetric key over a secure session. I know that one of the challenges with symmetric key encryption is the need to have the secure session to share the key. Once Bob receives the symmetric key, Alice then uses the symmetric key to encrypt her message. Since Bob has the symmetric key, he can use it to decrypt the message.
Questions:
  • How is this secure session created?
  • Is AES a hashing algorithm or an encrpytion algorithm? What is the difference between the two?

2.) Asymmetric encryption: Alice wants to securely send a message to Bob. She uses Bob's public key to encrypt a message using an asymmetric algorithm. Bob can then decrypt the message using his private key.
Questions:

• Does an asymmetric algorithm work the same as an encryption algorithm?