Passed today, here's some in detail pointers for all a ya's

juvenileslilbrothajuvenileslilbrotha Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
1. First thing, ignore anyone who tells you they just took this exam on a whim or they studied for it for three days and passed. They likely do this stuff for a living. If you do not study for this exam and give it the respect it deserves you will wind up failing it by 10 or 15 points and at 275.00 a pop, that's gonna hurt.

2. I used the Glen Clarke book to study for the test and that was probably a mistake. From what I am gathering the Darrill Gibson book is probably what you should be using. The Glen Clarke book does a very good job at introducing you to concepts, however, it fails miserably in giving you the detail of understanding the exam requires. I have been doing this for over ten years so I got by using the Clarke book but if I didn't have the practical knowledge to back it up, I would have failed.

3. The level of ambiguity in the question wording is what makes this exam a problem. I would have to say this exam rivals the CCNA in its ambiguous terminology. Fifty percent of the questions can either be A, C, D or B. You will need to know the concepts behind the question. You will need to know even the wrong answers so that you can use the process of elimination narrow it down between either A or D.

4. From everything I have read and from my personal experience, about midway through this exam you will feel like you are failing it or that you have already failed it. Push this feeling out of your mind you are likely right in it. You need to not give up and push forward attacking every question as if it is your saving grace. It will pay off in the end despite your feeling of despair.