Critique my resume

jennifermm13jennifermm13 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all. A little about me. I am currently working in a non-it field, as a corrections officer. I completed my Associates in Computer Technology in 2009. During those 2 years in school I worked in the computer lab where people could bring in their computers and students fixed them for free. I do not have any certification but i am currently studying for the security+ exam. I am taking this exam first because the local library had the book and i am very strapped for cash at the moment. Anyway I'm trying to make my way back into the IT field and feel that my resume is not as good as it could be. Any help would be greatly appreciated .

EDUCATION
Orangeburg- Calhoun Technical College, Orangeburg, SC
Associate of Arts, Computer Technology May 2009

SKILLS
  • Familiar with Java, Macintosh OS (Tiger, Leopard) Microsoft office (Word, PowerPoint, Excel), Microsoft Windows (XP, Vista, Windows 7)
  • Proficient in PC repair, setup and installation, various peripheral devices and data entry.
  • Working knowledge of Linux/Unix systems including
    • Administrative
    • General shell commands
    • File-related shell commands
    • Job control and I/O
    • Edit text files using an editor

Relevant Work Experience

Aerotek, Columbia, SC 10/08-09/09
ATM Technician
  • Troubleshoot and repair ATM machines
  • Installed Institution specific software onto ATM systems
  • Maintained safe and organized working environment by adhering to OSHA guidelines

Orangeburg – Calhoun Technical College, Orangeburg, SC 10/07-05/09
Computer Lab Technician
  • Responsible for troubleshooting and repairing personal computers and laptops
  • Installed various software programs
  • Replaced and Repaired hardware components (HDD, CD/DVD drives, Ram)

Orangeburg – Calhoun Technical College, Orangeburg, SC 02/08-10/08
Java and Microsoft Office Suite Tutor