Options

Will i be over qualified?

santaownssantaowns Member Posts: 366
Currently I have about 3 years verifiable experience in IT. the last 8 months in Operations (monitoring alerts and running bridges etc) and the rest at the job prior to this as a contractor in the Security(physical) at the same company. I maintained desktops, servers, windows server 2003 windows server 2008 r2, access databases, cisco switches, dell unmanaged switches and more cameras/dvr software than i want to take time naming. I almost have my associates (9 classes away) and would have it in summer/fall next year if i continue, but i am contimplating putting that on hold and just transfering what i got into wgu and finishing that quickly.

My goal is to finish a BS at WGU, then move on from my job as i work 3rd shift and i pretty much watch youtube all night when its dead for 10 hours or so. I can get alot of studying done during that time and id rather it go towards the end goal than the associates.

I figure 3-4 semesters at WGU (works paying for it so i can actually take my time if i need to) so basically 4.5 years IT experience.

Will i be overqualified with a bachelors and many certs for any jobs?

To throw a bone in the mix, what if i were to switch jobs where i supervised over 3 teams of SAP technicians? would that hinder me or would it look better? I dont want to supervise i would only take that job if it pays alot more than what i make now.

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Comments

• Options
    RouteThisWayRouteThisWay Member Posts: 514
    I am confused. With a degree, certs, and 4.5 years experience will you be overqualified for any jobs? Sure- entry level jobs. Not for mid-level experienced positions though.

I'm just confused by the question- no one is not going to hire you because "gosh darn, he has a degree/certs/experience".
    "Vision is not enough; it must be combined with venture." ~ Vaclav Havel
  • Options
    gunbunnysouljagunbunnysoulja Member Posts: 353