Training Requirement

How do you guys feel about vendors that require mandatory training to attain a certification?

A friend of mine and I were debating this. He feels that requiring classroom/training to qualify for a certification really limited the exposure to a certification. He felt that it prevented people who are great self-taught techs/admins/engineers/etc from attaining the industry accepted bench mark of "yes, I know this technology".

While I see his points, I also am supportive of vendors (such as VMWare) requiring training to qualify to sit their exam. I feel it sets a minimum bar for their certifications and really says "Hey, if someone has this exam- at minimum, they have received approved training from a certified instructor" and they can get behind their exam. We all know some people use brain **** for certifications- including those that require training. I am not saying that this guarantees that people who have this cert actually know the material- it just helps to know there is a baseline. I also feel it provides a little bit of extra security in maintaining the value of the certification. Not as much "paper MCSEs" as they were called in the last decade.

Just wondering what the general consensus is on the subject.
"Vision is not enough; it must be combined with venture." ~ Vaclav Havel

Comments

• dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    He felt that it prevented people who are great self-taught techs/admins/engineers/etc from attaining the industry accepted bench mark of "yes, I know this technology".

Bunk. Spending $3k to attend training is a very low barrier.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • biggenebiggene Member Posts: 153 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Dave,

You must live in a different world that me. It would take me months and months of scrimping and saving to put aside $3000, much less be allowed to take a week off work to attend the classes.

Gene