Job decision, advice ?

GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
Hello guys,

As i happily declared from here before, I got my first IT job 3 months ago.(i was an Air traffic Controller before) I love my company and team here. And people do love me too :) I am a Network/system admin , and i am the only guy who is not a programmer,except account and the project manager.

But,

for last 1 month i am doing share point admin, web programming, sql database immigration and IIS services. Today my boss asked me if i know python and ruby on rails. He has a new project for me i guess.

because the company is small or semi-medium, everyone is doing everything.first 2 months: I have implemented whole network solution from the scratch.(it was in an unacceptable situation), whole NAS backup plan, vlan(s), vpn(s)-ipsec,l2tp-, firewall configuration, dell idrac installation(s) and remote management, load balancing. (network is quite big, there are other 2 sites more). ( we moved to a new building, guess how time consuming it was, but i loved the thing i did)

AND

It is probably because they didn't have a system admin before, boss is not able to see the difference between programmers and non programmers in case of work principle. I feel he expects me to work like a programmer (always in a project, writing code, if not probably network should be reconfigured...)

DUE to this,

i wanted to talk him 15 days ago and wanted to say that ,"it is time for me to leave because i cant learn about networking so much here and expectations are different, I can't develop my skills as much as i want, they need a system admin for the support maybe, but not full time for everyday"

However,

at this day he came to me and said:"I am afraid of thinking about your leaving, hope you will not leave one day"

SO

I didn't say anything...