Options

Actual Router and Switch Model #'s depicted on -801

David_HXDavid_HX Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying to renew my CCNA having since (5 years ago) passed the -507 only missing (1) WAN question.

The -801 seems to cover most of the same matl. and network concepts with the possible ommission of the Novell SPX/IPX stuff and the addition of some items taken from the CCNP exam. (OSPF, NAT/PAT, etc.)

What I would like to know, if anyone here *really* knows, is which model numbers Routers and Switches are depicted on the exam Sims.

This is important simply to study the IOS command syntax used since the 1900 (which was used on the previous -507 exam) has become obsolete and seems to have been replaced by the 2950.

Also...............

On the -801 exam itself, if you enter an incorrect command syntax, does the Sim give the same responce as a real Router or Switch would , or does the exam Sim accept it (erroniously) and allow you to continue, thus failing the Sim question ?

David

Comments

• Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Mainly the 2600 routers and 2950 switches. The 1900 is indeed not very valuable when preparing for the current CCNA exam, but a couple of good old 2500 routers are still very useful.

The sims are not stupid ;) in other words, they will not accept incorrect commands. Read the following topic for more unveiling information about the sims:
    icon_arrow.gifwww.techexams.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7268
  • Options
    EricOEricO Member Posts: 93 ■■□□□□□□□□
    The -801 seems to cover most of the same matl. and network concepts with the possible ommission of the Novell SPX/IPX stuff and the addition of some items taken from the CCNP exam. (OSPF, NAT/PAT, etc.)