A+ dilemma

kirstengkirsteng Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi!!!

I have a question/problem. I self studied for the A+ exam because I wanted to try a new career path. Needless to say, I passed the 701 and am gearing up for studying for 702. The problem: I've never worked in the IT field before. How do I break through? I work a full-time job now, so I can't swing an internship. Shouldn't it count for something that I studied on my own and passed? icon_sad.gif

Help!

Comments

• paulgswansonpaulgswanson Member Posts: 311
    They don't necessarily care how you studied, just be able to answer the interviewers questions correctly :)
    http://paulswansonblog.wordpress.com/
    WGU Progress: B.S. Network Management & Design <- I quit (got bored)
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Welcome to TE. Do you have any IT experience, no matter how small? Are you transitioning from another field? What's your story?
  • NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    kirsteng wrote: »
    Shouldn't it count for something that I studied on my own and passed? icon_sad.gif
    What matters to most employers is that you have the certification and know the topics.

And no, I don't think it should be any different. While you may argue learning on your own demonstrates talent, another may argue organizing a study group demonstrates leadership, and yet another may argue that ante'ing up for a course demonstrates commitment. The one objective, measurable fact is that your respective skills culminated in an A+ and no more.

But don't let this stop you from selling your talent. :)
  • kirstengkirsteng Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□