Help... Network Administration Certs obtained through studying (no experience) ??

UnisticUnistic Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

Just as the title state I need help. I want to become a network administrator so I'm wondering which certs I can obtain with a few weeks/months of studying if I have no experience (will obtain some after I get out of the military).

As of now I know A+, Net+, Sec+ all can be obtained with dedicated studying time. Which certs towards networking can be obtained the same way.

If you don't mind also list other certs related to network administrator that require experience to obtain and how many years.

I want to do Cisco administration because I heard it was the most popular/needed.

Thanks for your help with this!!

Comments

• RouteThisWayRouteThisWay Member Posts: 514
    You just said you wanted to do Cisco. So.. go get your CCNA. It is the associate level certification and can be obtained with no experience- just hit the books and find a good simulator to lab things out.

Good luck!
    "Vision is not enough; it must be combined with venture." ~ Vaclav Havel
  • UnisticUnistic Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you for the response.

So its all three comptia and then the CCNA. I got a long road ahead of me hopefully I will get done with all of these in a year.

Hard work and studying!

Thanks Again!
  • ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Unistic wrote: »
    Thank you for the response.

So its all three comptia and then the CCNA. I got a long road ahead of me hopefully I will get done with all of these in a year.

Hard work and studying!

Thanks Again!
    I wouldn't bother with A+/Network+ unless a specific job you want requires it. Security+ might open doors since you're in the military.
    Currently reading:
    IPSec VPN Design 44%
    Mastering VMWare vSphere 5​ 42.8%
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■