studying a certificate's objectives and not actually sitting the exam ?

hi do u guys also study for some good certificates that are not worth paying/quite expensive but, not actually taking the official exam? (just scoring virtual practice tests) i did that for N+ (i didn't mean N+ is not totally worth paying, it's quite good, in my point of view some comptia & eccouncils are jus a bit expensive compared with some key certs to have such as CCNA, MCSA 2008, RHCSA, VCP, CISSP etc.) is this a good way to study? do u guys do that too ? now, i'm studying CCNA & MCSA 2008 , i'll complete them, but, i skipped A+ & N+ , planning to skip linux+ too.

Comments

• uyen_nguyenuyen_nguyen Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I did exactly the way you did. Good luck for your decision.
    English is my second language. My apology for my grammar errors.
  • CerebroCerebro Member Posts: 108
    I'm working on ICND2, but I'm also brushing up on some N+ to fill in any gaps. I probably won't take the N+ exam though. I hate the feeling of having gaps in my knowledge.

I'm thinking of doing a m$ cert after the CCNA, although their cert track seems a bit haphazard, with them changing everything next year? But I'm going over some active directory stuff atm.
    2014 goals: ICND2[]

• dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think most of the guys on here would agree, people will do the exam for a couple of simple reasons:
    1. You've done the hard work, why not get the piece of paper?
    2. It presents to your employeer your able to follow through Study + Exam
    3. The exam format is a pressure cooker, you think under pressure on other peoples terms
    4. The real exams are normally harder than sims/question pools
  • clarknovaclarknova Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□