Experience qualifications

Moe 0101Moe 0101 Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just downloded the application for those who want to take the test for self study. On the application it asks what my experience qualifcations are. I am a Technical Support Engineer, have been with the company for 5 years now. I am worried that the work I perform will not meet their needs. I do not do any pen testing at work, I mainly help troubleshoot our clients network, pc problems and do alot of audits on software looking for bugs and do documentation on user permissions and encryption. I do hold Microsoft and Comptia certifications, do you think I should list them? I do not want to spend $1500 to take a class so I can take the exam. For anyone who has does self study before and can speak on your experience with the process please let me know. Do they really call your boss to confirm? My job is very private, and I am doing this more for myself than for the company. Anyway thanks for your time.

Comments

• pumbaa_gpumbaa_g Member Posts: 353
    In most cases they dont, but I have known some companies to do cold calls and try to get more customers. Some just ask upfront to refer your frds, co-workers. If you dont want your boss to know dont list your experience.
    Regarding self study and classroom personally I like going the self study route as it saves money and time. I can study any time I want be it middle of the night or early morning after I finish my shift at work. For some certifications it may be good to have some classes like CCNP or CCIE and some where contact hours are mandatory like PMP & Vmware. It depends on your comfort level
    [h=1]“An expert is one who knows more and more about less and less until he knows absolutely everything about nothing.” [/h]
  • the_hutchthe_hutch Banned Posts: 827