Passed Security+ SY0-301, next stop on security path Cisco CCNA Security Cert.

synseqsynseq Member Posts: 123
Hey guys. How's it going? Well I did it and it wasn't really that hard. I've been doing compsec stuff since I was 16(over 10 years ago) but of course back then a lot of the stuff I did they would consider computer trespass but as they say experience is the ultimate teacher. Fortunately I grew out of doing that type of stuff illegally no need to when companies will pay you to do it icon_cool.gif . I was considering focusing on the networking aspect for certifications and work but security was always my first interest in computers. What other security certifications would you recommend? I was looking for one or two others maybe something that focuses solely on linux and another on MS Windows and server platforms. I was also considering the CISSP. I figured most of you have more experience on this field and was hoping for some advice. Thanks for your time.

Edit: Next stop will have to be the regular CCNA exam it seems I cannot get the CCNA Security cert. without it but shouldn't be a problem as I said earlier I enjoy networking almost as much as I do security.
Life is not a gift for man, man is himself life, his wants and needs serve the singular purpose of existence, any man who loses sight of this and does not cherish life itself is in the hardest of ways.

Comments

• tbhoustontbhouston Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Depends on what your end goal is. It sounds like you already have a lot of knowledge of pen testing, you might take a look at the certified ethical hacker and forensic certs. Do some consultant work or even land a full time web security analyst position.

I would never tell anyone to shy away from CCNA, it provides a solid foundation for everything. But you might be able to knock these out quick, CISSP is a huge challenge as well.
  • whatthehellwhatthehell Member Posts: 920